Not sure how I didn’t think of that…

As I said yesterday, this past weekend I had the opportunity to see Sarah Kalnajs speak over the course of two days.  Honestly, there were moments of greatness and moments of… well… disappointment.  I think this largely has to do with the stress going on in her life right now…she seemed to improve as the weekend went on.  I took away some interesting behavioral assessments/evaluation tools and an appreciation for good canine behavior videos.  Perhaps the most personally informative is Sarah’s idea of having a safety zone for the dogs in the house.

For all of Shayne’s improvements with people, she still gets concerned/anxious when visitors come over.  We’ve done a lot of work and men can come in and as long as they ignore her for about 5 minutes she warms up nicely.  However, the sound of a knock at the door immediately sends her into a bit of a tizzy.  It just takes a minute to send her to her bed where she will stay until the person enters but this does still raise her anxiety level and I’d like to prevent that.   I could, of course, continue to do counter conditioning but I’m looking to try something new.

One of the things I love about being in an ever-evolving field is that there are a crazy number of new ideas coming out all the time.  What I love even more is that innovators can use the same ingredients and come up with some amazing recipes.  Sarah’s concept uses “ingredients” that I either use or have known about for some time, yet the way she combines them is quite a good idea and one I’m going to work on.

Sarah spoke about creating a safety zone where dogs can learn to relax and stay quiet.  Using DAP, Through A Dog’s Ear music, visual barrier, comfy beds/crates, and some training I can hopefully reduce Shayne’s anxiety about visitors.  I’ve been newly inspired to give this set up and training a go specifically for some relaxation when we have visitors for Shayne.

I just love that something so simple could provide such a much needed space for Shayne to relax and chill.  I’m hoping that if I get a good vibe going in the safety zone, that I’ll be able to make a travel safety-space for when we compete elsewhere and she has to chill in a hotel room.

I’m going to get some DAP and download TADE music (since my CD has mysteriously disappeared…) and see if we can get a nice happy place going for Shayne!

About Success Just Clicks

I'm a dog trainer and enthusiast who moonlights as a blogger and custom tug-toy maker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not sure how I didn’t think of that…

  1. Hi! Just making the rounds to remind all my bookmarked dog-bloggin’ friends that the Tricks For Treats contest ends this Friday at 11:59 pm EST. Grab your video camera and get your submission in ASAP! http://puplove.ca/?page_id=365

    AJ

  2. The safe zone is an important concept. Even dogs who are comfortable around people still need some down time when change occurs. Bailey has a couple of spots, Katy seems to prefer her crate.

Leave a Reply

